Tag Archives: Joe Haun

Fail Safe: Fail Safe

Fail Safe: Fail Safe
This is the debut album by Fail Safe, recorded in 2001. “The Days Of The Phoenix” was originally performed by AFI.

“A healthy nostalgic stroll down memory lane. Had a dream last night that I ran into Flip the guitarist & I tried to apologize to him but he wouldn’t let me make amends & then he disappeared. I know everyone hated him but I never had a friend like him before or since. He was very selfless for me and I couldn’t see it then. Society, you’re a crazy breed. Society says, go to school, that’s not the right school. Society says, get a job, that’s not the right job. Society says, get a home, that’s not the right neighborhood. Meanwhile I can’t help but feel it was better when I gave no fux.”
-Jonny Jenaro

“I am very proud and pleased to be able to present this little treasure from the past. Joe Haun had been my best friend since second grade and this is what he was working on fresh out of high school, while I was putting together the beginnings of Beacon Meadows. It was through his involvement in the band that I met and became good friends with Jonny the vocalist and Mike the drummer. Every time I listen to this, it takes me back.”

01. Fail Safe – Perfect Life
02. Fail Safe – River Of The Ironic
03. Fail Safe – Love From A Distance
04. Fail Safe – The Days Of The Phoenix

tracks 1-3 (lyrics: J. Suicide/music: J. Haun, M. Berg, Flip) & track 4 (lyrics and music: AFI)

Fail Safe is…
Jonny Suicide: vocals
Joe Haun: bass
Mike Berg: drums
Flip: guitars

Click on the images below to view the full-sized version.

>>Download here:
Fail Safe: Fail Safe

VARN Industries Volume I: 1984 Soundtrack

VARN Industries Volume I: 1984 Soundtrack
This is the first VARN Industries album, recorded between 1999 and 2001, with vocals later finally recorded in 2004.

“The concept behind this album was that it was the soundtrack to the novel 1984, written by George Orwell, though it ended up drawing inspiration from much more than just that single book. The lyrics were written in 1999 during a year-long binge on any anti-utopian literature (such as Fahrenheit 451, Brave New World, A Clockwork Orange, etc…), as well as literature about the Vietnam War, the Soviet Union and the first Gulf War (the second one hadn’t happened yet). The music was then recorded when I found a music-making program in my video productions class that I took home. Batrick made his first recorded appearance on this album, helping me with the music on a couple tracks. My long-time friend Joseph Haun co-wrote the lyrics for “An Anthem By Citizen 303” (his locker was #606) while we were in history class, where we first learned about the Frank Loesser song “Praise The Lord And Pass The Ammunition.” I actually decided to cover the song based purely on its title, having never heard the song or read its lyrics. The backing track is a overhauled version of the theme song for a show I did in high school called “The Ron & Rob Show.” Several other tracks also began as background music for high school video projects. An answering machine message from my mother is backmasked into the second track. I had a very different idea of how VARN Industries would evolve from what it ended up becoming, thanks in no small part to my introduction to marijuana after most of this album was done. ”

Part I: Emmanuel Goldstein
01. VARN Industries – Two Minutes Hate
02. VARN Industries – Assault And Battery Not Included
03. VARN Industries – As Seen On TV
04. VARN Industries – From The Outside
05. VARN Industries – Choose A Side
06. VARN Industries – Praise The Lord And Pass The Ammunition
07. VARN Industries – Everything For Nothing
Part II: Big Brother
08. VARN Industries – Prelude To The War
09. VARN Industries – An Anthem By Citizen 303
10. VARN Industries – The Proles
11. VARN Industries – New Year’s Revolution
12. VARN Industries – GigaHurtz
13. VARN Industries – Ten Day Course
14. VARN Industries – World War 3

Two Minutes Hate [created by MAN3] contains an excerpt from “USSR National Anthem” performed by the Russian Red Army Choir . Assault And Battery Not Included [lyrics and music: MAN3] . As Seen On TV [lyrics: MAN3/music: MAN3, Batrick] additional programming: Batrick . From The Outside [lyrics and music: MAN3] . Choose A Side [lyrics and music: MAN3] . Praise The Lord And Pass The Ammunition [lyrics and music: F. Loesser] . Everything For Nothing [lyrics and music: MAN3] . Prelude To The War [lyrics and music: MAN3] contains an excerpt from “Human Beings Are A Disease” [music: MAN3] performed by VARN Industries . An Anthem By Citizen 303 [lyrics: MAN3, J. Haun/music: MAN3] . The Proles [lyrics: MAN3/music: MAN3, Batrick] additional programming: Batrick . New Year’s Revolution [lyrics and music: MAN3] . GigaHurtz [lyrics and music: MAN3] . Ten Day Course [lyrics and music: MAN3] . World War 3 [lyrics and music: MAN3] .

Produced by MAN3 / Written and performed by MAN3, except as noted / Female vocals performed by Lucipurr / Music recorded and mixed @ [tracks 1, 3, 6 & 10 @ Chamberlain High school, Tampa & Carroll Grove, Tampa] & [tracks 2, 4, 5, 7, 8 & 9 @ Gaga & Pappy’s Home, Tampa] / Vocals recorded and mixed @ Oak Manor, Tampa / Thank you: my daughter Lilith, family, Batrick, Joseph Haun, Lucipurr, Atari Teenage Riot, Ambrose Bierce, David Bowie, Ray Bradbury, Anthony Burgess, the Dalai Lama, Zack De La Rocha, Food Not Bombs, Mohandas Ghandi, Richard B. Gregg, Forrest Gump, George Harrison, Robert Heinlein, Aldous Huxley, John & Yoko, Dr. M.L. King Jr., Frank Loesser, Nelson Mandela, Aaron McGruder, Michael Moore, Vince Navarro, Jonny “Crusher” Odermatt, George Orwell, Trent Reznor, The Ron & Rob Show, Gary Trudeau, the Wachowski Brothers, Walt Whitman, Rita Williams / VARN Catalog Number: 0100 / “If I could be reborn two more times, I would live again to do what I have done already.” – Nicola Sacco, shortly before execution /

>>Download here:
VARN Industries Volume I: 1984 Soundtrack